News & Media

News & Media Centre

Media release

New anti-dairy campaign takes aim at Dairy Australia’s flagship education program

Tue 27 February 2024, 7:00am
Tue 27 Feb '24
by Farm Transparency Project
Farm Transparency Project has released a new campaign calling for a ban of Dairy Australia’s Discover Dairy program, which provides lesson plans and activities to schools. The campaign, titled End Dairy Slaughter, features footage of the slaughter of week-old bobby calves and 4-6 year old dairy cows being violently slaughtered, which has been captured in Australian slaughterhouses in the past year.  Farm Transparency Project is calling out Dairy Australia...
Editorial

Did Farm Transparency Project Just Help Topple a Government?

Thu 15 February 2024, 3:29pm
Thu 15 Feb '24
by Kristy Alger
When activists with Farm Transparency Project first walked into the Tasmanian Quality Meats slaughterhouse in the dead of night, they had no idea that the...
Campaign news

Tasmania to mandate CCTV in abattoirs to stop animal cruelty

Wed 31 January 2024, 9:49am
Wed 31 Jan '24
by Isabel Bird (The Advocate)
Investigation into Tasmania's abattoirs exposed animal abuse allegations. Government creates livestock taskforce and considers new regulations to improve animal welfare.
Media release

Cruelty still rampant at infamous Tasmanian slaughterhouse, seven years on

Tue 30 January 2024, 7:00am
Tue 30 Jan '24
by Farm Transparency Project
New footage from Gretna Quality Meats has revealed that animal cruelty is still rife, seven years after the facility was originally exposed by Animal Liberation...
Investigator Diary

Bear's Story

Mon 29 January 2024, 2:35pm
Mon 29 Jan '24
by Harley
Sometimes out of the darkest of places come stories of hope. But our time at Snowtown had no happy endings. On our final night investigating...
General news

Animal abuse alleged at North-West abattoir - 7HOFM

Wed 24 January 2024, 10:17am
Wed 24 Jan '24
by Martin Agatyn (7HoFM)
More footage of animal mistreatment is claimed to have been filmed at a Tasmanian slaughterhouse, this time at an abattoir near Burnie.
Media release

More footage shows animal cruelty and dangerous conditions at Stowport slaughterhouse

Mon 22 January 2024, 7:00am
Mon 22 Jan '24
by Farm Transparency Project
New covert camera footage captured at Wal's Bulk Meats in Stowport, shows workers jumping on cows, sheep killed without stunning, cows shot multiple times with...
General news

Hundreds of live sheep export phase-out submissions kept secret amid fears of reprisal from animal activists | The West Australian

Sat 20 January 2024, 5:00am
Sat 20 Jan '24
by Kimberley Caines (The West Australian)
Hundreds of submissions on the phase-out of the live sheep export trade are being kept secret after farmers requested anonymity amid fears of reprisal from...
General news

Stephanie Tretheway, Australian of the Year nominee, condemns 'crazy vegans' as her farm is targeted by animal rights activists | Daily Mail Online

Fri 19 January 2024, 1:00pm
Fri 19 Jan '24
by David Southwell (Daily Mail Australia)
A nominee for Australian of the Year is engaged in a bitter feud with animal activists after film emerged of an abattoir she previously part-owned...
Campaign news

‘Not good enough’: Animal rights activists stage protest at Tasmanian Quality Meats

Wed 17 January 2024, 12:05am
Wed 17 Jan '24
by Pulse Hobart (Pulse Hobart)
Animal rights activists have converged on an abattoir in Northern Tasmania with the aim of 'disrupting operations' at the Cressy business. The "vigil" at Tasmanian...
Campaign news

Offending Tasmanian abattoirs must face consequences, bodies say

Tue 16 January 2024, 5:30pm
Tue 16 Jan '24
by Hamish Geale (The Examiner)
Activists staged a nine-hour vigil outside Cressy's Tasmanian Quality Meats on Tuesday. Meanwhile, TasFarmers says enough is enough.
Campaign news

Animal activists continue campaign demanding animal welfare reform

Tue 16 January 2024, 5:00am
Tue 16 Jan '24
by Joe Colbrook (The Examiner)
Animal activists plan to disrupt animal transport trucks at Tasmanian Quality Meats abattoir. Protest aims to shed light on animal cruelty issues in Tasmania.
Media release

Protesters plan disruption at Cressy slaughterhouse after release of “shocking” hidden camera footage

Mon 15 January 2024, 8:00am
Mon 15 Jan '24
by Farm Transparency Project
Campaigners from Animal Liberation Tasmania and Farm Transparency Project are planning on disrupting animal transport trucks at Tasmanian Quality Meats slaughterhouse, in a protest against “...
Investigator Diary

Felix's Story

Sun 14 January 2024, 7:36pm
Sun 14 Jan '24
by Meghan Quinlan
This is Felix. A beautiful baby boy I was privileged to meet and spend time with. Felix was healthy. Apart from being malnourished and weak...
Editorial

Scottsdale Pork - A pig slaughterhouse at the intersection of political corruption and bigotry

Sat 13 January 2024, 8:49pm
Sat 13 Jan '24
by Kristy Alger
In October 2007 two elders from a secretive religious sect, the Exclusive Brethren, were granted permanent access to the ministers and backbenchers of the Federal Liberal...
Campaign news

Calls for closure: Activists allege more animal cruelty at Scottsdale Pork meat facility

Thu 11 January 2024, 8:00pm
Thu 11 Jan '24
by Pulse Hobart (Pulse Hobart)
Additional footage showing what activists allege to be instances of animal cruelty at yet another Tasmanian abattoir has been released. The Farm Transparency Project (FTP)...
Campaign news

Footage of alleged animal cruelty at Scottsdale Pork-owned Ten Mile Enterprises Meat Facility released

Thu 11 January 2024, 6:00pm
Thu 11 Jan '24
by Simon McGuire (The Mercury)
‘Confronting to watch the systemic cruelty,’ Greens say. Footage from a Tasmanian abattoir emerges showing alleged animal cruelty including conscious pigs ‘lowered into a scalding...